Skip to content

A terrible omission

March 1, 2012

This morning as I listened again to “10,000 Reasons” I thought about what I’d written below (Drawn up), and it dawned on me that my comments were remarkably me/us focused! What I said is true, but there’s another side that is more important, namely, God’s own glorious being! As the twenty-four elders sing, “Worthy are you, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they existed and were created” (Rev. 4:11). In chapter 5, when the Lamb takes the scroll, they again sing “Worthy are you”. Chapter 5 ends with this crescendo:

And I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and in the sea, and all that is in them, saying, “To him who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be blessing and honor and glory and might forever and ever!” And the four living creatures said, “Amen!” and the elders fell down and worshiped.

When our favorite football team makes a great play, we leap to our feet and applaud and yell. When our child delivers a memorized speech or performs a song, we stand and applaud. And both without thinking, “This is good for me. Look at what it says about me that I can recognize something significant.” No, we simply react to something we see as great. The more we know about God, the quicker we are to leap to our feet and throw our hands in the air (or however we express worship physically!) and sing with great joy. And one day we will do it looking right at the one of whom the elders sang:

“Worthy are you to take the scroll and to open its seals, for you were slain, and by your blood you ransomed people for God from every tribe and language and people and nation, and you have made them a kingdom and priests to our God, and they shall reign on the earth.”

Yes, bless the Lord, O my soul!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

